For Tech’s Schuster, American Chemical Society honors come in threes

Former College of Sciences dean named to 2017 class of ACS Fellows

The American Chemical Society has twice before recognized former College of Sciences dean Gary B. Schuster during his distinguished career. This week it decided to add one more honor: Schuster has been named to the 2017 class of ACS Fellows.

“I am honored to have been included among an extraordinarily talented group of scientists named this week as ACS Fellows,” Schuster says. “Designation as an ACS Fellow is especially meaningful to me, because it also recognizes the contributions of my students and colleagues at Georgia Tech and elsewhere, without whose efforts none of this would have been possible.”

Schuster was presented with the ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award in 1994 for excellence in organic chemistry. In 2006 he received the Society’s Herty Medal, which is awarded each year to a top Southeastern chemist by the Georgia Section of the ACS.

The ACS Fellows Program, described on the organization’s website, is intended to recognize “a member who, in some capacity, has made exceptional contributions to the science or profession and has provided excellent volunteer service to the ACS community.”

Schuster is the Regents’ Professor and Vasser Woolley Professor, Emeritus in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He was the dean of the College of Sciences from 1994 until 2006, when he was named provost and executive vice president. He was the Institute’s interim president from 2008 to 2009.

Schuster graduated from Clarkson College (now University) of Technology in 1968 with a B.S. in chemistry. He received his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Rochester in 1971. Schuster spent 20 years at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, where he was also the head of its chemistry department. He arrived at Georgia Tech in 1994.

Schuster’s other honors include being named a Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2002), the Mead Imaging Presidents Award (1987), the John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship (1986), and the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1979).

In April, Schuster was chosen as the 2017 recipient of the Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award, the highest honor Georgia Tech presents to its faculty members.


Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Gary B. Schuster, member of the 2017 class of ACS Fellows

    Gary B. Schuster, member of the 2017 class of ACS Fellows

For More Information Contact

Renay San Miguel
Communications Officer/Science Writer
College of Sciences