Honoring Our Faculty: College of Sciences Announces 2020 Award Recipients

September 1, 2020

Every year, the College of Sciences reserves a date in early fall to host a special awards dinner that honors several faculty members for exemplary teaching, research, mentoring, and community development during the previous school year.

Of course, like many other plans in 2020, this year’s event had to be put on hold because of the pandemic — but that hasn’t stopped the College from honoring faculty with special sponsored awards that spotlight innovation in both lecture halls and labs.

Please join us in congratulating seven faculty members receiving College of Sciences awards for outstanding work during the 2019-2020 school year, and in thanking our alumni and friends who make these awards possible:

Eric R. Immel Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching

Chris Jankowski, Director of Graduate Advising and Assessment and Assistant Director of Teaching Effectiveness, School of Mathematics

This award is presented to a faculty member in recognition of exemplary teaching in foundational undergraduate courses (classes that are typically taken by a selection of different majors) in the current or previous academic years.

Cullen-Peck Scholar Awards

Steve Diggle, Associate Professor, School of Biological Sciences; Jennifer Curtis, Associate Professor, School of Physics; and Chris Reinhard, Assistant Professor, School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

These awards will recognize research accomplishments led by College of Sciences faculty at the associate professor or advanced assistant professor level.

Leddy Faculty Family Fellowship

Stefan France, Associate Professor, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The award will be made to further the goals of the College by supporting development of the research and training program and quality of instruction of a faculty member in the College. The major criteria for selection will be proven accomplishments in research and teaching, the potential impact of the award on the career development of the recipient, and his or her interest and capacity in advancement of pedagogy and actual methods and practices of teaching.

CoS Faculty Mentor Award

David Sherrill, Professor, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry 

Since 2002, the College of Sciences has supported various forms of formal mentoring for junior faculty. In addition, each of its schools has its own faculty mentoring program where, through informal consultations, the members of the community share their experience, provide advice and encouragement, and help the next generation succeed. The College and its ADVANCE Professor jointly established the College of Sciences Faculty Mentor Award to recognize these mentors.

Ralph and Jewel Gretzinger Moving the School Forward Award

Raquel Lieberman, Professor, School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

This award recognizes the leadership of a school chair or senior faculty member who has played a pivotal role in at least one of the following areas: Diversifying the tenured or tenure-track faculty composition in view of gender or race; creating a family-friendly work environment; or providing a supportive environment for junior faculty.


For More Information Contact

Renay San Miguel
Communications Officer
College of Sciences