Our Leadership

Susan Lozier

Susan Lozier

College of Sciences Dean and Betsy Middleton and John Clark Sutherland Chair

susan.lozier@gatech.edu

David M. Collard

David M. Collard

Associate Dean for Academic Programs & Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

david.collard@cos.gatech.edu | 404.894.7532

Coordinates activities related to recruitment, retention, curriculum, instructional facilities, scholarships, and awards; directs initiatives to broaden participation in STEM and build capacity for undergraduate research.

Matthew Baker

Matthew Baker

Associate Dean for Faculty Development & Professor of Mathematics

mbaker@math.gatech.edu | 404.894.0613

Responsible for developing, implementing, and assessing programs that enhance the instructional, research, and career opportunities for faculty. Key areas of responsibility include faculty hiring; mentoring of faculty; faculty retention, promotion, and tenure; and diversity, equity, and inclusion at the faculty level.

Julia Kubanek

Julia Kubanek

Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Biological Sciences, & and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

julia.kubanek@cos.gatech.edu | 404.894.0326

Builds research opportunities and relationships for faculty and students; advocates on behalf of Georgia Tech scientists to grow research facilities on campus; connects researchers with collaborative and funding opportunities; supports career development of faculty, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students.

Lew E. Lefton

Lew E. Lefton

Assistant Dean for Information Technology in the College of Sciences, Associate Vice President for Research Computing in the Office of the Executive Vice President for Research, & Senior Academic Professional in the School of Mathematics

lew.lefton@gatech.edu | 404.385.0052

Supports and advises the College on computing issues; manages all College-level IT support staff, including hiring and classification; works with other colleges to explore collaborations; provides the College's perspective on Institute-level initiatives; facilitates communication and best practices among research faculty, school administrators, and technical staff.

J. Cameron Tyson

J. Cameron Tyson

Assistant Dean for Academic Programs and Principal Academic Professional in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

cam.tyson@cos.gatech.edu | 404.385.0418

Leads undergraduate recruitment; develops and coordinates activities to support undergraduate experiential learning and student retention; works with schools to develop and implement various programs to enrich the undergraduate experience, including undergraduate research and study abroad; manages college-level scholarship programs and awards; coordinates academic program reviews in the College of Sciences.

Chairs of Academic Schools

J. Todd Streelman

J. Todd Streelman

School of Biological Sciences

todd.streelman@biology.gatech.edu

M.G. Finn

M.G. Finn

School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

mgfinn@gatech.edu

L. Gregory Huey

L. Gregory Huey

School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

greg.huey@eas.gatech.edu

Rachel Kuske

Rachel Kuske

School of Mathematics

rachel@math.gatech.edu

Michael Schatz

School of Physics

ms201@gatech.edu

Mark Wheeler

Mark Wheeler

School of Psychology

mark.wheeler@psych.gatech.edu

Administration

Juan Archila

Director of Facilities & Capital Planning

juan.archila@cos.gatech.edu | 404.894.8745

Serves as the College's contact for facilities management, building construction and renovations, and unit relocations.

Kristin Berthold

Director of Finance

Kristin.Berthold@cos.gatech.edu | 404-385-0645

Serves as financial advisor to the College’s executive leadership and chief financial liaison to the College’s six schools; oversees all fiscal affairs of the College, including budget administration and financial operations.

Dian A. Chung

Dian A. Chung

Director of Human Resources

dian.chung@cos.gatech.edu | 404.894.8584

Plans and directs administrative operations, performing various duties in support of the Dean’s strategic and administrative activities and responsibilities for the College, including human resource programs and services; serves as Human Resources Representative for the College and its units.

Vacant

Director of Development

Secures philanthropic support to advance the mission and goals of the College of Sciences and its schools.

Justin Filoseta

Justin Filoseta

Director of Information Technology and Research Scientist II in the School of Mathematics

filoseta@gatech.edu | 404.894.7385

Advises on technology, data, and research computing matters; identifies and directs the design, development, and implementation of IT services and solutions to support and enhance the academic and research missions of students and faculty; coordinates IT resources; serves as a campus technical expert.

Jennifer K. Leavey

Jennifer K. Leavey

Principal Academic Professional, Director of Georgia Tech Urban Honeybee Project and Faculty Director of the EXPLORE Living Learning Community

jennifer.leavey@cos.gatech.edu | 404.385.7229

Leads interdisciplinary co-curricular programming for undergraduates including the EXPLORE Living Learning Community, and the Georgia Tech Urban Honey Bee Project, and science communication and outreach initiatives such as Charged Magazine, and campus involvement with the Atlanta Science Festival; assists with undergraduate recruitment.

Jess Hunt-Ralston

Jess Hunt-Ralston

Director of Communications

jess.hunt@cos.gatech.edu | 404.385.5207

Leads communications strategy, planning, news and public relations to advance the mission and vision of the College of Sciences and its schools. Serves as the College's primary liaison with Institute Communications for media relations and external outreach, brand management and development, interdisciplinary communications and marketing. Advises and counsels College leadership and researchers to help share the story of science and math at Georgia Tech.